Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program

Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program

The Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program™ was the first major project founded and developed by The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools, Inc. Since its inception thirty five years ago as a way to enhance public education by recognizing and rewarding excellence in teaching, the Foundation has awarded 195 educators with the prestigious Golden Apple. 


Each year begins with an invitation to students, parents, teachers, administrators and the general public to nominate any Lee County School District teacher who is making an extraordinary contribution to our students. Typically, more than 6,000 nomination forms are submitted each year nominating over 2,000 individual teachers.

Selection Process:

The Golden Apple Selection Committee, made up of community and business leaders, is charged with the arduous task of selecting the Golden Apple Recipients as the applications are reviewed and narrowed down to 30 finalists. Those finalists are personally interviewed and observed in their classrooms by the Selection Committee and six teachers are chosen as recipients of the Golden Apple Award.

Golden Apple Banquet:

The six recipients are guests of honor at the Annual Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Banquet. This elegant black-tie affair is an opportunity for the community to recognize the Lee County Golden Apple Recipients, Finalists, Teachers of Distinction and members of the Academy of Teachers.


“Teachers who love teaching teach children to love learning.”

— Robert John Meehan

New-Press Ad 2022 final

Golden Apple Major Sponsors